Universalist Quote of the Day #132

“If I am to be a minister of religion, I must teach the poor people that they have a Father in heaven, not a tyrant; one who loves them beyond all power of heart to conceive; who is sorry when they do wrong, not angry; whom they are to love and dread, not with caitiff coward fear, but with deepest awe and reverence, as the all-pure, all-good, all-holy.  I could never fear a God who kept a hell prison-house–no, not though he flung me there because I refused.”

–J.A. Froude

1 Comment

Filed under Universalism

One response to “Universalist Quote of the Day #132

  1. “I could never fear a God who kept a hell prison-house–no, not though he flung me there because I refused.”

    I agree whole-heatedly! Great quote!

Leave a Reply

