Universalist Quote of the Day #207

“The Father proposes remedy, not destruction.  His merciful plan is to heal, not destroy.  Everything in God’s moral government, and everything in human experience, sustains this grand idea.  I offend some moral law, I trifle with purity, or integrity, or justice; and the shame of a blackened reputation, and the pain of a rebuking conscience, come upon me as the result.  Bitter and overwhelming as these may be, they come not, after all, to crush me, to destroy me because I have sinned, but the rather to teach me by severe experience that honor and happiness and safety and life lie along the track of obedience to God’s moral laws.  The one supreme object of all penalty, both human and divine, is to prevent sin, and to hold us in our living to the path of conformity and obedience and wisdom.”

Rev. Lyman D. Boynton

Leave a comment

Filed under Universalism

Leave a Reply

